Haiku Contest Guidelines

For National Poetry Month, World Monuments Fund invited entries for our second annual haiku contest. Haiku is a traditional Japanese form that emphasizes simplicity, intensity, and directness of expression.

2013 Winners

First Prize: Cristina Oprea
Second Prize: Mark E. Brager
Third Prize: Mike Blottenberger

Matthew Paul
Neal Whitman
Carol Judkins

All six winning haiku will be published on WMF’s website in the near future. Thank you to all who entered. We enjoyed reading your haiku.


Alan Summers runs With Words, a nonprofit that provides literature, education, and literacy projects, often based around Japanese literary genres. He is a recipient of the Japan Times Award and the Ritsumeikan University of Kyoto Peace Museum Award for haiku. He is a founding haiku editor for Bones, and serves as editor of haiku/haibun for the Lakeview International Journal of Literature and Arts. He has four haiku collections, the most recent being Does Fish-God Know, and has also co-edited haiku-based anthologies. His haiku has appeared in 75 anthologies in fifteen languages, including Japanese, and has been printed in Japanese newspapers including Yomiuri Shimbun, Asahi Shimbun, Mainichi Shimbun, The Japan Times, and The Mie Times. A forthcoming work is Writing Poetry: the haiku way. Alan is currently working on a children’s novel, an adult crime thriller, and The Kigo Lab Project. He blogs at Area 17 and is a featured haiku poet at Cornell University, Mann Library.

Alan Summers was the recipient of top honors in our first annual haiku contest. Read winning haiku.


All rights revert to the authors after publication.