Modernism Prize

Established in 2008, the World Monuments Fund/Knoll Modernism Prize is awarded biennially for an innovative architectural or design solution that has preserved or enhanced a modern landmark or group of landmarks.

The first of its kind, the award acknowledges the growing threats—neglect, deterioration, or even demolition—now facing significant works of modernism, and recognizes the architects and designers who help ensure their rejuvenation and long-term survival. Its purpose is to raise public awareness of the influential role modernism plays in our architectural heritage, and recognize modern buildings as sustainable structures with viable futures.

The prize is awarded in recognition of completed (built) work, and may be awarded for an individual project or a body of work. The award consists of $10,000 and a limited-edition Mies van der Rohe–designed Barcelona chair, created by Knoll in honor of the award. The prize is awarded to the designer, architect, or firm responsible for the work.

An independent jury comprising professionals from the fields of architecture, architectural conservation, journalism, and related fields selects the winner. The jury is chaired by Barry Bergdoll, the Meyer Schapiro Professor of Art History and Archaeology at Columbia University, and Acting Chief Curator of Architecture and Design, Museum of Modern Art.

2014 World Monuments Fund/Knoll Modernism Prize

The 2014 World Monuments Fund/Knoll Modernism Prize will be awarded to the Finnish Committee for the Restoration of Viipuri Library with The Central City Alvar Aalto Library in Vyborg on December 1, 2014.

2012 Prize

World Monuments Fund awarded its 2012 World Monuments Fund/Knoll Modernism PriJze to the Architectural Consortium for Hizuchi Elementary School for their restoration of Hizuchi Elementary School in Hizuchi, Yawatahama City, Ehime Prefecture, on Shikoku Island, Japan.

2010 Prize

World Monuments Fund awarded its 2010 World Monuments Fund/Knoll Modernism Prize to Bierman Henket architecten and Wessel de Jonge architects for their exemplary restoration of the Zonnestraal Sanatorium, a little-known but iconic modern structure in Hilversum, the Netherlands.

2008 Prize

The inaugural 2008 World Monuments Fund/Knoll Modernism Prize was awarded to Brenne Gesellschaft von Architekten mbH, led by Winfried Brenne and Franz Jaschke, for its superb restoration of the former ADGB Trade Union School, a highly significant but little-known Bauhaus-designed landmark in Bernau, Germany.