Press Release

World Monuments Fund To Honor Prince Amyn Aga Khan and Dr. Eusebio Leal Spengler at 2018 Hadrian Gala

World Monuments Fund will honor Prince Amyn Aga Khan, of the Aga Khan Development Network, and Dr. Eusebio Leal Spengler, historian of the city of Havana, Cuba, at the 31st annual Hadrian Gala at the Rainbow Room in New York City on Tuesday, October 23, 2018.

Prince Amyn Aga Khan will receive the Hadrian Award in recognition of his lifelong support of cultural heritage in all its forms. Prince Amyn holds multiple leadership roles within the Aga Khan Development Network—a group of development agencies with mandates that include the environment, health, education, architecture, culture, tourism, microfinance, rural development, disaster reduction, the promotion of private-sector enterprise, and the revitalization of historic cities. Among many board and committee positions at cultural institutions around the world, Prince Amyn has served as a trustee of World Monuments Fund since 1997.

Dr. Eusebio Leal Spengler will receive the Hadrian Award in recognition of his unmatched contributions to the preservation of the historic center of Havana, Cuba. Dr. Leal has served as the historian of the city of Havana since 1967, and is responsible for the comprehensive rehabilitation of Havana’s historic center, which is inscribed on the World Heritage list. He is a professor, honorary professor, or professor emeritus at more than thirty prestigious universities, and has received the highest honors, medals, and commendations issued by countries around the world.

“Prince Amyn and Dr. Leal represent the impact that steadfast leadership can have on cultural heritage sites and their communities around the world,” said Lisa Ackerman, Interim Chief Executive Officer, World Monuments Fund. “We are thrilled to honor their extraordinary accomplishments this year.”

WMF’s 2018 Hadrian Gala is hosted by Dinner Chairs Tony Bechara, Brook and Roger Berlind, Linn and Robert Feidelson, Lorna and Edwin Goodman, Fernanda M. Kellogg, Monika McLennan, Christopher Ohrstrom, and Jack Shear.

# # #

About the Hadrian Gala:

Each year, World Monuments Fund’s Hadrian Gala honors champions of conservation for their passionate commitment and extraordinary contributions to preserving and protecting the world’s shared cultural heritage.

Since 1988, World Monuments Fund has presented the Hadrian Award to recognize leadership that advances the understanding, appreciation, and preservation of the world’s art and architecture. Previous Hadrian Award honorees include: Deborah Lehr (2017); The Stavros Niarchos Fondation (2016); Her Majesty Queen Sofía of Spain (2015); Mica Ertegün (2014); Roberto Hernández Ramírez (2013); Kenneth I. Chenault, Chairman and CEO, American Express (2012); Jo Carole and Ronald S. Lauder (2011); Ratan Tata and the Tata Family (2010); David Rockefeller Jr. (2009); Houghton, Doreen and Graeme Freeman (2008); Rahmi Koç and the Koç Family (2007); His Highness The Maharaja Gaj Singh II of Marwar-Jodhpur (2006); The Right Honourable John Julius, The Viscount Norwich (2005); Carlos Slim Helú (2004); Eugene V. Thaw (2003); Hélène and Michel David-Weill (2002); The Honorable James D. Wolfensohn (2001); Harvey Golub (2000); Lord Sainsbury of Preston Candover K.G., Hon. Simon Sainsbury, and Sir Timothy Sainsbury (1999); Richard Hampton Jenrette (1998); Phyllis Lambert (1997); His Highness The Aga Khan (1996); Lord Rothschild (1995); David Rockefeller, Sr. (1994); Dominique de Ménil (1993); Marella and Giovanni Agnelli (1992); Mrs. Vincent Astor (1991); His Majesty King Charles III (1990); Paul Mellon (1989); and Carlo De Benedetti (1988).

About World Monuments Fund

World Monuments Fund is the leading independent organization devoted to saving the world’s treasured places. For more than 50 years, working in over 100 countries, its highly skilled experts have applied proven and effective techniques to the preservation of important architectural and cultural heritage sites around the globe. Through partnerships with local communities, funders, and governments, WMF seeks to inspire an enduring commitment to stewardship for future generations. Headquartered in New York City, the organization has offices and affiliates worldwide. Visit for more information, or connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

# # #

Media Contact: Hillary Prim, Director of Communications,

Open PDF