2010 World Monuments Fund/Knoll Modernism Prize

The 2010 World Monuments Fund/Knoll Modernism Prize was awarded to Bierman Henket Architecten and Wessel de Jonge Architecten for their exemplary restoration of the Zonnestraal Sanatorium (designed 1926-28; completed 1931), a little-known but iconic modern structure in Hilversum, the Netherlands. The jury was chaired by Barry Bergdoll, The Philip Johnson Chief Curator of Architecture and Design at the Museum of Modern Art in New York, and included Kenneth Frampton, Ware Professor of Architecture at Columbia University; Jean-Louis Cohen, Sheldon H. Solow Professor in the History of Architecture at New York University; Dietrich Neumann, Professor of the History of Art and Architecture at Brown University; Theo Prudon, President of DOCOMOMO/U.S. and Adjunct Associate Professor of Historic Preservation at Columbia University; and Karen Stein, design consultant, writer, and faculty member in the Design Criticism program at the School of Visual Arts in New York City.

Open PDF